From the Handmade Librarian to You

April 10, 2012

Consider this -- conversations with local artisans and craftspeople

I follow a number of blogs, and one of my favorites is The Handmade Librarian who writes about things I love — books, crafts, creative people, libraries, do-it-yourself projects . . . Her post of March 29th, 2012 was such a treasure that I felt I should pass it along to you as a special gift.

Jessica Pigza, the Handmade Librarian, writes about Nick Hand’s new book, Conversations on the Coast:  “Over the last few years, Nick has been at work on a bicycle-based project somewhat akin to slow food and slow fashion. The Slowcoast project was built around Nick’s biking journey along the coastlines of England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland. Along the way, he stopped often to meet and record the work of local creative makers and designers. The results of his explorations are twofold: a series of short documentaries recording interviews with artisans, and a book called Conversations on the Coast.”

If you follow the links to the Slowcoast Project, you will find a real trove — about 100 short (4-1/2 minute) slideshows and interviews with a diverse mixture of people.  All are engaged in creative and interesting work, for example making baskets, growing daisies, farming, making cheese, designing clothes, etc.  You can link to the slideshows here.  If you admire handmade things, hands-on craft, and local, independent businesses, you will find much to delight you in these presentations.

Enjoy!

P. S. Quite by accident I came across another project focusing on short videos about Brooklynites who make things by hand.  “Made by Hand” is a project from the bureauofcommongoods.com, and you can like to the videos here.

5 Responses to “From the Handmade Librarian to You”

  1. handm11 Says:

    Thanks so much, Rosemary, both for spreading the world about the awesome Slowcoast Project and for your kind words. I look forward to exploring “Made by Hand” too, thanks to you!

  2. Margaret Says:

    Aren’t blogs fun? I can get caught up for hours linking from one teaching blog to another. I try NOT to get tempted into checking into craft and handmade ones, but I might have to give in this time to check these out.

  3. Martha Says:

    Sorry to just now getting around to commenting here, but thank you so much for sharing this absolute gem. I have saved the Slowcoast site and slides and it has all inspired me- but I’ve no idea what will come of it. Percolating.

  4. Elisa Says:

    oh bummer the Handmade Librarian site is gone


Leave a comment