Camping Breakfast: Omelettes-in-a-Bag

October 5, 2010

Omelette-in-a-bag

One of my favorite breakfasts when car camping is “omelettes-in-a-bag.”  I’ve made these omelettes in zip-lock bags in the past, but worried about the possible release of harmful chemicals in the boiling process.  This time I saved and re-used the bags from my Trader Joe’s microwavable brown rice.  I have received reassurances from the Trader Joe’s customer service representatives that these bags are safe for microwaving and boiling.

These omelettes taste great, but they are also super easy to make.  And clean up is a snap because there is no dirty pan!  In fact, I start by bringing a pot of water to the boil, then pour out enough for hot chocolate or tea.  I use the rest of the water to boil the omelettes-in-a-bag.  And then after they are cooked through in about 3 to 5 minutes, I use the hot water for washing the forks and cups we used for breakfast.  Easy!

Choose your omelette fillings and place in bag. I used cooked broccoli, pre-cooked and diced bacon, and shredded cheese.

Add two fresh eggs to your bag.

Seal bag (I stapled mine shut) and then squish to mix ingredients.

Place bags in boiling water and allow to cook for 3 to 5 minutes until solid.

Slide omelettes out of bags and enjoy!

2 Responses to “Camping Breakfast: Omelettes-in-a-Bag”

  1. Margaret Says:

    I’ve been curious if these were any good. I guess I will use your photos as a testimonial. Looks like a winner and something we can keep in mind when camping on the land.


  2. […] cooking during camping?  This is the best idea.  Just think.  You could actually make these yummy omelettes after a night of beer by the campfire.  […]


Leave a comment