Wordless Wednesdays: 12 Views of Raggedy Ann and Andy (100 years old this year)

April 8, 2015

IMG_9694

IMG_9709

IMG_9699

IMG_9713

IMG_9693

 

IMG_9715

IMG_9702

IMG_9705

IMG_9697

IMG_9710

IMG_9721

 

IMG_9791

 

10 Responses to “Wordless Wednesdays: 12 Views of Raggedy Ann and Andy (100 years old this year)”

  1. Adrienne Says:

    My sister Barb and I spent a few happy saturdays at annual Raggedy Ann Festivals in Arcola,Il. One year I won a Hasbro Raggedy signed by a grandson of Johnny Gruelle.The little Arcola museum since closed and no more festivals. Nice memories, However.

  2. Renee Says:

    Loved this post. How can anybody not smile while looking at these happy dolls

  3. christinalfrutiger Says:

    They say that “real” Raggedy Ann and Andys have a heart embroidered on the body, even though no one ever sees it! 🙂
    Mine does…

  4. shoreacres Says:

    Here’s mine! Mom made it when I was very young. This is her second dress, and third pinafore. My aunt made the last pinafore about three years ago. The one she had, in dotted Swiss, was in tatters.

    • Rosemary Says:

      Oh, that’s a keeper. Love that hair, so much thicker than my homemade version.

      • shoreacres Says:

        I just took a good look at it, and I think Mom must have knit it somehow, and then stitched it on. It is thick, and whorled around in the back. Somewhere, I have a photo of me sound asleep in bed with her. I need to find that photo. 🙂

  5. Susan O'Neil Says:

    This brings back incredibly fond memories for me as my Mom used to make Raggedy Anns and Raggedy Andys. She would sell them at my sister’s school’s fall bazaar and they would sell out within the first few minutes the bazaar was open [she always charged less than what they were worth]. I still have a few that my Mom made [including the very first one that she made that I had spilled grape juice on] that I treasure. I actually have been collecting them for the last several years. Thank you for sharing this!

  6. christinalfrutiger Says:

    What? A Raggedy Ann or Andy with no heart? 🙂 That’s the first thing I look for!


Leave a comment