Seeing from the Corner of Your Eye

April 11, 2014

National Poetry Month. 11

Blossoms

Blossoms

“Poetry is the kind of thing you have to see from the corner of your eye.  You can be too well prepared for poetry.  A conscientious interest in it is worse than no interest at all.  If you analyze it away, it’s gone.  It would be like boiling a watch to find out what makes it tick.”
— William Stafford, from Sound of the Ax: Aphorisms and Poems by William Stafford, ed. Vincent Wixon and Paul Merchant

 

 

3 Responses to “Seeing from the Corner of Your Eye”

  1. Lynne Says:

    Thanks by sharing this quote from the great William Stafford. I think he puts it just right.

  2. shoreacres Says:

    Well, I was going to reference a book I poetry I have, but it seems “had” is the operative word. I can’t find it! and I just spent a half-hour looking. No more time. If I find it, I’ll add a comment. It’ll drive me crazy now until I figure out what happened to it.

    • Rosemary Says:

      I always love your quote contributions, so you’ll have to let me know about the mysterious case of the missing poetry book. I wonder where you’ll find it.


Leave a comment