Tree Watching: Recognizable Maple Leaves

April 11, 2012

My "adopted" maple tree with recognizable leaves and flowers

I wouldn’t be honoring the spirit of Arbor Day if I didn’t make a special visit to my “adopted” trees.

My maple trees have now sprouted new leaves with their distinctive pointed shape.  It looks like a single maple bud opens into both flowers and leaves.  The flowers have been evident for a week or so, but I am just now seeing new leaves.  Each bud seems to support several (five or so) leaves plus dozens of little flowers.  It’s really quite fascinating to notice all this production from one bud.  The entire tree is just sprouting with new growth.

Maple buds with lots of flowers, but with leaves just starting to emerge.

Here you can see some leaves have opened.

Just look at all this new growth!

The entire package -- bud, flowers, and leaves.

Looking up into "my" maple tree.

My “adopted” willow tree has been leafing out, too.  The bedraggled pussy willow buds are less prominent.

New willow leaves

A few pussies among the new leaves

 

4 Responses to “Tree Watching: Recognizable Maple Leaves”

  1. Chris Says:

    The first photo is exquisite…the contrast is beautiful! The leaves look like they are backlit…very nice! I would frame that one! 🙂

    • Rosemary Says:

      I, too, was struck by how absolutely beautiful the emerging leaves were. So glad I went out to photograph them.

  2. Sallyann Says:

    The maple leaves and flowers are just beautiful. 🙂
    I’m so glad you went out to photograph them too. 🙂


Leave a comment