The World is Sobbing in Desperation

March 31, 2012

“. . . there is a deluge.  I’ve never seen such rain.  It is a revolt in the heavens, a mortal convulsion of the earth.  The world is sobbing in desperation, sobbing to death, knowing that it cannot die and that there will always be more tears to shed.”
— Simone de Beauvoir, writing about New Orleans in America Day by Day

Raindrops and new leaves

When will it stop raining?

When the forecast is for 100% chance of rain on your day off work, you sometimes just have to make the most of it and get outside with the camera anyway.  Here are a few shots from today’s walk in the rain.

Blossoms dripping with rain

Rain dotted foliage, diamonds on green

Raindrops on bleeding heart

2 Responses to “The World is Sobbing in Desperation”

  1. Chris Says:

    A dreary poem for a dreary day! I do have to admit though..all this rain and wind makes the air feel and smell so clean and fresh!!

  2. Sallyann Says:

    Last time I took the camera out in the rain I got soaked, but ended up enjoying myself just the same.
    I like the diamonds on the green. 🙂


Leave a comment