Tree Watching in Seattle: Thwarted!

February 24, 2012

Posted signs on my "adopted" horse chestnut trees

My “adopted” horse chestnut trees are slated for removal!  The property owner wants to get rid of them because they are too close to the power lines and apparently planted too closely together.  I am sad that I won’t get to watch these trees come into leaf.

Bud of horse chestnut tree

The buds on the horse chestnut trees are still not showing much action, although I did notice that they are very sticky to the touch.

Meanwhile, the buds on “my” maple trees are starting to fatten just a tiny bit.

Buds of maple tree

And the willow tree is still bursting with pussy willows.

Branch of "my" willow tree

6 Responses to “Tree Watching in Seattle: Thwarted!”

  1. garden2day Says:

    I am really sad that the trees will be taken down. I hate it when that happens. I guess I am a tree hugger at heart. Lovely buds…

  2. Martha Says:

    Rosemary, this is just an elegant and deeply beautiful blog. Thank you so much for sharing your world in such a way. I’m adding you to my blog list.


  3. We will remember them. They will live on, here on your blog. Sad to see trees go.

  4. Wil Says:

    Will they let you take one & replant it in your yard? I bet George & I could move one.


Leave a comment