Handmade Button Bracelet

April 13, 2011

My handmade button bracelet and reflection

I’ve been admiring my friend B.J.’s button bracelet, which she made several months ago.  Then she gave me some cord (it is a special cord with a line of plastic inside) and thread so that I could try to make one of my own.  I’m pleased with my first attempt, although I like B.J.’s bracelet better — I think her buttons are positioned closer together for a tighter finished bracelet. 

Here are some photos of my bracelet in process, so that you can replicate the bracelet, too.

Choosing buttons with shanks from my button supply

Fold a length of cord in half, and anchor your first button at the folded end. From here, you will place buttons between the two cords and sew the cords together around and through the buttons.

The back side of my finished bracelet. You sew a loop at the end for a fastener.

3 Responses to “Handmade Button Bracelet”

  1. Lynne Says:

    Beautiful! I love buttons as craft material. They always seem to give any object – quilts, pillows, Indian blankets, picture frames, clothing, jewelry, etc. – a kind of whimsy.

  2. Khin Hnin Says:

    This is beautiful, Rosemary! (:
    Thanks for sharing!

    Hugs,
    Khin


  3. Really great idea to make amazing bracelet!


Leave a comment