Remembering Maurice Sendak

January 3, 2013

IMG_8785

I am reminded how much I appreciate blogging when a post brings to my attention something truly valuable that I would have otherwise overlooked.  I felt that way when I read today’s post by Sally Schneider at the Improvised Life blog, which includes a year-end video clip from The New York Times called “An Illustrated Talk with Maurice Sendak.

I urge you all to take a few minutes to watch the video clip and listen to Sendak’s words.  You will be touched.

I was working for an independent children’s book publisher in Minneapolis in 1980 when The Art of Maurice Sendak by Selma G. Lanes was published by Harry N. Abrams.  I bought the book for $40, a large purchase for me in those days.  But I never regretted it, such a meaty biography of one of my favorite children’s book illustrators with 261 illustrations, including 94 plates in full color and an original Sendak pop-up of Red Riding Hood.  I still cherish it.  I suppose that now it is a collector’s item.

Signed plate inside my book

Signed plate inside my book

 

2 Responses to “Remembering Maurice Sendak”

  1. Martha Says:

    I came to appreciate Sendak very late. But maybe he came to me when it was time, don’t know.

    This interview is precious. And I truly believe this kind of human being is vanishing before our eyes.

  2. shoreacres Says:

    I’d never heard of Sendak before I began blogging. I don’t think I even knew of Dr. Seuss until I was well out of childhood – probably when “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas” began showing up on TV. And I missed Shel Silverstein, too.

    I remember seeing “Fantasia” in a movie theater, but most of my books were either of the “Pokey Little Puppy” variety, or part of a children’s series my folks bought one volume at a time: “Treasure Island”, “Heidi”, and so on. And of course the Bobbsey Twins.

    Which is a long way around to say I’m glad I finally found Sendak. He was a marvel, and a long way from “Dick and Jane”.


Leave a comment