Kusudama: Folded Paper Flowers

May 10, 2010

Flower made from five squares of folded paper

I admit that it’s a bit out of sync to make artificial paper flowers when the gardens outside are full to bursting with fresh blooms.  But I love to play with paper and was inspired by some instructions for making Japanese Kusudama, folded paper flowers, in a book filled with intriguing papercrafts:  Playing with Books:  The Art of Upcycling, Deconstructing, and Reimagining the Book by Jason Thompson. 

Playing with Books

The paper flowers were easy to make, and I love the finished product.  The flowers are constructed from five square pieces of paper, which are folded identically into five petals.  The book recommends using 6-inch squares, but I made my squares 5 x 5-inches and was pleased with the results.  Here are some step-by-step instructions:

I cut five 5-inch squares from old magazines

Fold each paper in half to make a large triangle

Fold two corners down to make a small square

Use your finger to open each flap and then . . .

. . . press flat

Fold up tips on both flaps

Then fold each flap in half and inward

To make a petal, fold inward and glue (I used paperclips instead) the innermost flaps together

Then glue (or paperclip) together the five petals

Finished flower

Decorative folded paper flower

Gift wrapped in recycled newspaper and embellished with folded paper flowers and paper curls

7 Responses to “Kusudama: Folded Paper Flowers”

  1. Lynne Says:

    Fun!

  2. Margaret Says:

    I am always left wondering – who figured out how to do this in the first place?


  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jason Thompson. Jason Thompson said: A reader of my new book made her own Kusadama flowers, with paperclips, no glue: http://bit.ly/az6smI […]

  4. greenwalks Says:

    Beautifully made and photographed! When I make stuff like that, it always turns out lopsided. You could teach a class at the library this summer for kids, just sayin’.

  5. weddingftw Says:

    I recently made some of these and used glue, but I have to say I really like the way the paperclips turned out! They look awesome and definitely unique!


  6. […] Making kusudama (folded Japanese flowers) from instructions found in Playing with Books: The Art of Upcycling, Deconstructing and Reimagining the Book by Jason Thompson: https://rosemarywashington.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/kusudama-folded-paper-flowers/ […]


  7. […] Kusu Dama: Folded Paper Flowers, May 10, 2010 […]


Leave a comment