Islands of Warmth

December 5, 2016

Last month's full moon

Last month’s full moon

“The cold has the philosophical value of reminding men that the universe does not love us. Cold as absolute as the black tomb rules space; sunshine is a local condition, and the moon hangs in the sky to illustrate that matter is usually inanimate. . . . To return back indoors after exposure to the bitter, inimical, implacable cold is to experience gratitude for the shelters of civilization, for the islands of warmth that life creates.”
— John Updike, “The Cold”

I am getting tired of the dark, the gloom, the clouds, the cold, the dampness, the rain.  I dream of warm sun on my skin.  That local condition is months away.  In the meantime, I will try to be grateful for central heating, electric lights, polar fleece, and mittens!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Islands of Warmth”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    It looks like even the moon wants to get away for a while. Are you seeing it creep off the right edge of the page, too? I think it’s just a little glitch, but it certainly made me laugh. Maybe it’s headed to the tropics!

  2. kittybluhm Says:

    Your words here provide some warmth, rosemary . . .


  3. This is the time of year when I light candles often. Something about that warm flame must remind me of the sunlight and heat we don’t have right now. Does wonders for my mood. I miss warm days, too!


Leave a Reply

