Back to Basics with a New Project

October 29, 2016

Pen and ink sketch of Canada goose

Pen and ink sketch of Canada goose

Pen and ink sketch of crow

Pen and ink sketch of crow

I’ve decided that if I am going to commit to becoming an artist, I need to give even a little time each day to making drawings or paintings.  So I will start by using a paperback book as a sketchbook, something so portable that I can have it with me and available to pull out and make a quick sketch in odd moments.  To keep it even more simple, I will just use a black ink pen for my drawings — no color or pigments.

Small ambitions are about all I can commit to right now.  I will keep this project light-hearted, more in the nature of doodling away in idleness than anything more serious.  The book has 168 pages, and I plan on drawing on the right-hand pages only.  My hope is to have filled the book by the end of the year.  And to have cultivated the good habit of taking time each day to spend on something important to me.

I like the theme of the book I have chosen, In Praise of Idleness by Bertrand Russell.  I will inevitably read a couple of pages each day as I add my drawings, and perhaps this exercise will give me something to think about as I work.

I expect the book to become well worn as I handle it in the coming days.  It already has a coffee stain on the edge.

 

5 Responses to “Back to Basics with a New Project”

  1. carolyn cochran Says:

    Rosemary, this is a great idea. I understand feeling too pushed with all the things in life to devote much to a daily habit of sketching, and I admire your willingness to try this approach.

  2. Lynne Auld Says:

    What a great idea, Rosemary, and the little book you chose so aptly is already looking like a work of art!

  3. Irene Golembiewski Says:

    Thanks for the inspiration. I am looking for new focus and ways to move ahead. This idea helps.

  4. shoreacres Says:

    This truly is a wonderful project. I like the discipline, but also the lighthearted approach and the smaller goals. Sometimes, I feel as though I get in my own way with my grand ideas for grand projects!


  5. […] but still, I felt the need to draw more. I was inspired by Rosemary Washington’s drawing project and shared the idea with my friend Linda. Together, we each chose a book and began on November […]


Leave a Reply

