Gearing Up for Halloween

October 26, 2016

Current display at the Greenwood Library

Current display at the Greenwood Library

Every year businesses in the Greenwood and Phinney neighborhoods host a daytime trick-or-treat walk, and this year is no exception.  Here is the display advertising the event, complete with a few new crows in witch hats!

img_0467

img_0466

img_0465

Library staff who are scheduled to work that day are welcome to dress up in costume.  I’ve always had lukewarm feelings about Halloween and never felt very comfortable dressing in a costume.  Maybe one’s feelings about this holiday are formed during childhood, and we never went trick-or-treating when we were kids.  My parents held the view that this activity was akin to begging and therefore shameful (?!?) in some way.  My mother would buy candy bars to give to us on Halloween so we wouldn’t feel deprived!

I don’t hold the same views as my parents did, and I enjoy seeing how excited kids become when dressed up and given candy treats.  It’s a festive occasion.  I still do not like to dress up in costumes — too exhibitionist for me.  Perhaps I should stretch myself and move out of my comfort zone.  But I don’t think so.

Happy Halloween!

3 Responses to “Gearing Up for Halloween”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    I have the perfect solution for your costume — one I’m adopting this year. If I get home in time to post about it, you can read it. If not, I’ll tell you anyhow,so you don’t need to wonder.

    I have some crow photos for you, too, from Arkansas. They’re not exactlly real crows (although there were plenty around) but I think you’ll like them. Personally, I adore crows.I think they’re so smart, and just cocky enough to be fun.

  2. Elisa Says:

    a festive crow eye mask!? and you could be a librarian , or a painter!


Leave a Reply

