The North Shore of Lake Superior: Split Rock Lighthouse

September 1, 2016

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park along Lake Superior

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park along Lake Superior

One of my favorite places along the North Shore is Split Rock Lighthouse State Park.  This place is often featured on Minnesota calendars.  Our visit was enhanced by the amazingly dramatic clouds over Lake Superior.  Rain showers threatened, but held off while we walked the trails in this park.

As you view these pictures, I think you will agree with the sentiment in this quote by Minnesota author Paul Gruchow:  “All the prairie world is in summer but a screen to show off the glorious sky.”

Quintessential North Shore scenery

Quintessential North Shore scenery

IMG_9326

Clouds over Lake Superior

Clouds over Lake Superior

 

From the shore at Split Rock Lighthouse State Park

From the shore at Split Rock Lighthouse State Park

Craggy, rocky shoreline

Craggy, rocky shoreline

Split Rock Lighthouse

Split Rock Lighthouse

Lighthouse keepers' quarters

Lighthouse keepers’ quarters

IMG_9382

The skies grew darker

The skies grew darker

Sheets of rain falling in the distance

Sheets of rain falling in the distance

Split Rock Lighthouse

Split Rock Lighthouse

IMG_9355

IMG_9397

And here are two more pages from my Minnesota travel journal:

IMG_9735

IMG_9736

 

 

8 Responses to “The North Shore of Lake Superior: Split Rock Lighthouse”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    I know I can be a bit of a romantic, but I’ve always thought being a lighthouse keeper would be the best occupation in the world. Of course, I tend not to think so much about the storms.

  2. selah Says:

    Its hard to choose a favorite because they are all beautiful, but I especially like “from the shore…”

  3. selah Says:

    by the way, I clicked on “visit” to go to your blog but it keeps bringing me to the page in the Reader where I can read the whole post.


  4. Beautiful pictures! I love Superior! That photo of the rock detail is especially intriguing. I’d like to drink it up like tea.

  5. Elisa Says:

    My first thougt!

    OMG publish that book at it is!

  6. pentraveler Says:

    Gorgeous photos! I was there just about a month ago and the sky was no where near this dramatic.

  7. olgatsu Says:

    Beautiful nature! Nice post!


Leave a Reply

