The Beauty of Duds

July 2, 2016

IMG_7870

Out-of-focus but still beautiful

Heaven knows I have hundreds of unworthy photographs in my archives, and I tell myself that someday I will go back and edit out the ones I deem not worth keeping.  (That project is always on the back burner, but it is so much more fun to make new photographs than to go back and delete the old ones.)  Still, I find that I like some of my duds.  I see a lot of beauty in these two out-of-focus shots, for example.  So I will keep their digital files for a while.

My archive keeps growing!

IMG_3450

IMG_3160

IMG_0653

 

3 Responses to “The Beauty of Duds”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    That last one is a stunner. I’d never get rid of that. I’m in the process of going through my archives before moving things over to Lightroom. It’s a job, that’s for sure, but I anticipate being quite pleased with myself by the time it’s all over. It’s a huge job — and it takes a good bit of discipline to just toss a lot of those photos. But they need to be tossed. Onward!

  2. Adrienne Says:

    someone could use them for fabric prints:)

  3. bluebrightly Says:

    I agree with shoreacres that the last one is wonderful, but I think I like the one above it even more. I do a lot of photography with intentionally blurred images of the outdoors. It’s a great challenge to try to control it just a little, and see what happens.


Leave a Reply

