Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage

June 16, 2016

Red cabbage

Red cabbage

Here is another winning recipe.  It has been making the rounds among my sisters.  We all like it.  It uses red cabbage, which up until now I rarely bought.  The bacon is the secret ingredient that adds a lot of flavor.  I didn’t have much bacon on hand, so I added some ham as well.  Yummy.

IMG_7878

IMG_7829

IMG_7879-2

IMG_7832-2

Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage

Cut 1/4 lb bacon into pieces and fry.

Add to the drippings a chopped onion and one small red cabbage, sliced thinly.

Saute until limp.  While the cabbage is cooking, mix together in a small bowl:

1/4 c. vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
1/4 c brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt and pepper

Pour over cabbage and cook for an additional 15 – 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

Ink sketch of red cabbage

Ink sketch of red cabbage

One Response to “Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    I love German red cabbage, and this seems to be “it.” I’ve never made it, for some reason, but now I have no excuse. I’ll give this a try, soon.


Leave a Reply

