Looking at One Flower at a Time

April 26, 2016

Single poppy with buds

Single poppy with buds

Bouquet
by Robert Francis

One flower at a time, please
however small the face.

Two flowers are one flower
too many, a distraction.

Three flowers in a vase begin
to be a little noisy.

Like cocktail conversation,
everybody talking.

A crowd of flowers is a crowd
of flatterers (forgive me).

One flower at a time.  I want
to hear what it is saying.

IMG_6938

This was the lone poppy blooming in a bed of buds.  So I had no choice but to gaze intently at this one flower.  So much to see!  I was reminded of my Wordless Wednesday project of last year, when I took the time to photograph 12 views of a single object.

I think of Georgia O’Keeffe’s many flower paintings — most depict single flowers.  For most of my painting practice, I have been focussing on small watercolor sketches of single flowers, too.  But this year I have been branching into painting bouquets from time to time.  Even when painting bouquets, one has to paint one flower at a time!  Each one is a little portrait, so varied and unique.

For me, painting always involves looking deeply at things.  It adds another layer of enjoyment to seeing.

IMG_6934

IMG_6932

IMG_6945

My first watercolor sketch of this single poppy

My first watercolor sketch of this single poppy

 

Another watercolor sketch of poppy

Another watercolor sketch of poppy

2 Responses to “Looking at One Flower at a Time”


  1. great pictures and sketches !!!

  2. shoreacres Says:

    The poppy’s color is luscious. One of my favorite flowers, and one of my favorite colors, done by one of my favorite watercolorists! It’s a trifecta!


Leave a Reply

