Happy New Year

January 1, 2016

Keukenhof Gardens

Keukenhof Gardens

“For those who have come to grow,
the whole world is a garden.”

Street performer, New Orleans

Street performer, New Orleans

“For those who wish to remain in the dream,
the whole world is a stage.”

Suzzallo Library, University of Washington

Suzzallo Library, University of Washington

“For those who have come to learn,
the whole world is a university.”

Labyrinth embroidery

Labyrinth embroidery

“For those who have come to know God,
the whole world is a prayer mat.”
— from the teachings of Bawa Muhiayaddeen, from The Illuminated Prayer by Coleman Barks

I suppose we have all assumed more than one of these roles over the course of our lives, but I think I most often see the world as my university.  In which world do you find yourself?

 

 

4 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. Sammy D. Says:

    I see you at the next table 😊

  2. shoreacres Says:

    I’d say the university, but I’ll amend slightly, by saying the one-room school.

    Happy New Year, Rosemary! I’m so looking forward to all you’ll have to share in 2016. You never fail to stimulate, entertain, or simply make me happy by the beauty you share.

  3. Elisa Says:

    i do not find myself in any of those, i don’t look at it that way

  4. Adrienne Says:

    thought provoking.
    I come for different reasons at different times. certainly to learn. Sometimes to be entertained. And the world is entertaining.


Leave a Reply

