Impressionistic Photography

November 28, 2015

Foggy morning, Columbia River

Foggy morning, Columbia River

I’m finding it fun to experiment more with my photos, taking time to make a beautiful impression from some of my duds, those photos that I would ordinarily consider too blurry to keep.  I use an app called Photoshop Express to edit my images — crop, tint, color saturation.  I try to create more expressive, subjective, abstract images.  I am pleased with the painterly quality of the resulting photos.  Don’t you agree that they are beautiful?

This is a more natural view of the Columbia River, the morning after Thanksgiving, as the early morning fog was dissipating.

This is a more natural view of the Columbia River, the morning after Thanksgiving, as the early morning fog was dissipating.

This is a more impressionistic take on the same view.

This is a more impressionistic take on the same view.

IMG_5276

IMG_5267

IMG_5277

As much as I yearn to find time to paint, I still love to take photos.  And it feels very satisfying to push myself in new ways with my photography.  Experimenting makes me feel alive.  I don’t think I will ever set aside my camera for my paintbrushes.  I want time to play around with both.

 

2 Responses to “Impressionistic Photography”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    They are beautiful. My favorite is the first “adaptation.” It’s really quite amazing, the things we can do with photos. Post-processing can be an art, too.

  2. E. Bancroft Says:

    Joseph Turner would approve! Yes, they are quite beautiful — I cannot pick a favourite. I do love how photography has the ability to interpret what the eye sees whether the image is sharp or blurry, a close-up or wide-angle, colour or B&W, abstract or realist, photoshopped or hand-coloured. There is as much variety with photography as there is with painting and, like you, I love them both.


Leave a Reply

