Homemade Granola

September 6, 2015

Homemade Coconut and Almond Granola

Homemade Coconut and Almond Granola

I am not much of a cereal eater, as I usually prefer protein for breakfast.  But I like having granola on hand to sprinkle over fruit and yogurt.  I found this recipe in Rosie Birkett’s A Lot on Her Plate.  I like it because it does not have too much sugar in it.

Coconut and Almond Granola
from A Lot on Her Plate

Preheat oven to 350-degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with baking paper.

Toss together:

12 oz. (3-1/2 c) organic jumbo oats
1 tsp chia seeds
3 oz. pumpkin seeds
1/2 oz. sunflower seeds (I used more)
5 oz. (1-2/3 c) flaked almonds
2 oz. (1/2 c) desiccated coconut
1-1/2 tsp mixed ground spices such as cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg

Melt 4 Tbsp coconut oil and add 4 Tbsp maple syrup.  (I used honey.)  Pour over dry ingredients and mix until coated.  Spread out on baking pan.  Bake 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Cool for a few minutes.

Add 2 oz. (1/2 c) sultanas.  (I forgot this ingredient and did not miss it.)

Cool completely before storing.

Enjoy!

IMG_3593

IMG_3594

IMG_3595

IMG_3596

 

One Response to “Homemade Granola”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    I love granola on yogurt and fruit, too. I used to make it all the time in Liberia, but haven’t since. I’m going to give this a try, albeit with some substitutions (pecans for almonds, since I have good pecans.) Thanks for posting!


Leave a Reply

