Black-Eyed Pea Salad

April 16, 2015

Soaking black-eyed peas overnight

Soaking black-eyed peas overnight

My sister-in-law gave me this recipe for Spicy Black-Eyed Pea Salad.  I had never before cooked with tomatillos, and I rarely buy jalapenos, so my trip to the grocery store was more adventurous than normal as I hunted down the necessary ingredients.  It was worth it, though.  The salad is very good, and I will make it again.

Draining the black-eyed peas, getting ready to cook them

Draining the black-eyed peas, getting ready to cook them

Tomatillos

Tomatillos

Tomatillo with outer skin off

Tomatillo with outer skin off

 

Here is the recipe:

Spicy Black-Eyed Pea Salad

4 c rehydrated back-eyed peas, cooked until tender, drained and rinsed (or use two 15-oz. cans of black-eyed peas, drained and rinsed)
6 tomatillos, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1 – 4 jalapenos, chopped (I used just one because my family is not fond of highly spiced food)
1/2 onion, chopped
3 scallions, chopped
large handful of cherry tomatoes
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1/4 c olive oil
1/4 c red wine vinegar
1/4 c cider vinegar
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/4 c cilantro leaves, chopped
black pepper to taste
powdered cumin to taste
dash tamari sauce (I skipped this)
juice of one fresh lime

Combine all ingredients, preferably a day ahead of time to allow the marinade to work.

I roasted some of the ingredients before tossing.

I roasted some of the ingredients before tossing.

Before tossing, I roasted, with a drizzle of olive oil, 2/3 of the green pepper, 4 of the tomatillos, the onion, the garlic, and half of the tomatoes. I was worried I would not like the taste of so much raw tomatillo, and the roasting worked very well.

Enjoy!

Black-eyed pea salad

Black-eyed pea salad

3 Responses to “Black-Eyed Pea Salad”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    Welcome to my world! We call such things as black-eyed peas, tomatillos, and jalapenos “staples” in these parts! I’m glad you enjoyed it. If you ever can find fresh blackeyed peas, you’ll be amazed at the difference in taste there, too.

  2. Cynthia Melcher Says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this salad, and you tweaks to it sound great!


Leave a Reply

