Sparrows: Hunger Organized

March 14, 2015

House sparrow

House sparrow

Sparrow
by Wendell Berry

A sparrow is
his hunger organized.
Filled, he flies
before he knows he’s going to.
And he dies by the
same movement: filled
with himself, he goes
by the eye-quick
reflex of his flesh
out of sight,
leaving his perfect
absence without a thought.

On my recent trip to the George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Santuary, I saw at least four kinds of sparrows of the 35 kinds that live in the United States. Here are some photos:

 

One Response to “Sparrows: Hunger Organized”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    I have house sparrows galore, just now. I’ve been putting out a handful of shelled pecans for the bluejays every morning, and the sparrows have discovered the best trick is to pick up a pecan and fly off with it. I had wondered at how quickly the nuts were disappearing. My little thieves have done it!

    The fox sparrow is beautiful. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen one. Certainly, I haven’t “seen” one, in the sense of noticing it and remembering. They may be around.

    I heard doves cooing this morning — it’s a sure sign of spring.


Leave a Reply

