Practicing Art

March 12, 2015

White camellia

White camellia

“To practice any art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow.  So do it.”
— Kurt Vonnegut

As you can see from my attempts at painting a white camellia, I am taking Vonnegut’s advice to heart.  Yes, sometimes the results are bad.  But I learn with each attempt, and it is so engrossing!  Time flies and I even forget sometimes that it is time to cook supper.

White camellia

White camellia

Bad, bad ink sketch

Bad, bad ink sketch

Watercolor sketch of white camellia

Watercolor sketch of white camellia

It is still so challenging to paint white flowers!

White camellia

White camellia

This time I used Georgia O'Keeffe's pastel of a White Camellia for inspiration.

This time I used Georgia O’Keeffe’s pastel of a White Camellia for inspiration.

IMG_1212

Watercolor sketch of white camellia

Watercolor sketch of white camellia

One last attempt to capture those cascading petals

One last attempt to capture those cascading petals

 

4 Responses to “Practicing Art”

  1. Anne Says:

    Oh my gosh, I love your use of shadow on the white camelia paintings. They’re absolutely gorgeous. I particularly love the third to last one. The dark ink-green and touches of yellow add so much to it.

  2. Katie Says:

    I really like the “bad, bad ink sketch”! And the paintings, too. Getting so engrossed you forget the time is such a wonderful thing.

  3. shoreacres Says:

    I know about that “getting engrossed” phenomenon. And now I’m not only going to try to grow some camellias, I’m going to try the white. I love gardenias, but they just won’t do well here. The camellia might be a nice substitute.

    My favorite is your first watercolor sketch. I even like it more than the O’Keeffe. And of course we practice. Maybe for a writer, every draft is a bit of practice. I just put up a new etheree. There are forty-four drafts. I like going back to them and watching the poem take shape. It’s interesting to think about why I chose “this” rather than “that,” and so on.Sometimes, of course, I think, “Gosh. Why in the world did I do THAT?” And I try and do it better the next time.


  4. I missed seeing the camelias here this winter, so I was glad to find them here.


Leave a Reply

