Favorite Cheese Bread

November 20, 2014

IMG_9417

Cheese bread in the bread machine

Cheese bread in the bread machine

This Favorite Cheese Bread recipe has become my go-to recipe lately.  I seem to make bread more frequently in the fall and winter.  Fresh bread is so good with soup.  Today I’m having a sandwich on this homemade bread for lunch.

My sister gave me this recipe.  She clipped the article, “Me and My Bread Machine” by Ken Haedrich, from the February 2001 issue of Better Homes and Gardens.  I’ll reproduce the recipe for you here:

Favorite Cheese Bread

1 c water
3 c white bread flour (I used King Arthur’s bread flour)
1 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp powdered buttermilk
1/4 c dairy sour cream (I used bottled creamy Caesar’s dressing instead)
1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese
1 Tbsp dried chives (I substituted fresh rosemary)
1 Tbsp dry ranch salad dressing mix (I didn’t have this so used dried onion soup mix instead)
1 tsp active dry yeast

Use the Basic white bread cycle on your bread machine, 1-1/2 lb. loaf

Reflections of calendar in the bread machine

Reflections of calendar in the bread machine

Sliced bread

Sliced bread

 

 

3 Responses to “Favorite Cheese Bread”

  1. Mary Heath Says:

    You calendar rascal!

    Thanks for the many beautiful pieces and especially for the one reflecting on Atul Gawande’s new work. I am looking forward to reading it.

    Hope you are well. Love Mary

    >

  2. shoreacres Says:

    Here’s something else you might enjoy. Those clever librarians and their books!


Leave a Reply

