Wordless Wednesdays: 12 Views of a Great Blue Heron (from my photo archives)

October 29, 2014

IMG_5669

IMG_5688

IMG_4518

IMG_5703

IMG_5678

IMG_1560

IMG_4525

IMAGE_1117

IMG_5705

IMG_5667

IMG_4509

IMAGE_7900

 

7 Responses to “Wordless Wednesdays: 12 Views of a Great Blue Heron (from my photo archives)”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Wow – these are amazing! I especially like the photo of the self-satisfied looking heron, fish in mouth. And of course, the watercolor. Thank you for sharing these.

  2. shoreacres Says:

    I take it you were using a telephoto lens, yes? I certainly hope so. If not, your herons are a lot more sociable than ours. The photos are just fabulous!

    • Rosemary Says:

      Yes, I was using my long lens. They are shy here, even at Green Lake where they see people walking by all the time.


  3. Beautiful watercolor of the heron in flight!

    • Rosemary Says:

      Thank you. Herons have such a distinctive silhouette in flight (and on the ground for that matter). Lately I’ve been painting more birds — a departure from botanicals.


  4. Wow! Great pictures! I love the closeup of the bird eating a fish! Thank you for sharing these pics with us.


Leave a Reply

