Painting Day at the Gordon Skagit Farm

October 11, 2014

En plein air painting and sketching at the Gordon Skagit Farm

En plein air painting and sketching at the Gordon Skagit Farm

Several of my women friends, old and new, met for a day of painting outdoors at the Gordon Skagit Farm.  There was no shortage of vegetable models and colorful views to inspire our art making.  And we fit right in with the celebratory spirit of art in the country, surrounded as we were by Eddie Gordon’s paintings.

Painting has been largely a solitary pursuit for me, and I have come to love these informal meet-ups to paint with kindred souls.  Several of these women meet regularly and take classes together.  Someday when I’m retired I hope to be just like them!

IMAGE_7608

Bonnie's sketchbook

Bonnie’s sketchbook

The painters were a magnet for curious kids

The painters were a magnet for curious kids

Nancy's pumpkins

Nancy’s pumpkins

Judy at work

Judy at work

IMAGE_7611

Maryam's pumpkins

Maryam’s pumpkins

Jude at work

Libby at work

The inspiration for my first watercolor painting

The inspiration for my first watercolor painting

My watercolor sketch of the vintage International Harvester truck

My watercolor sketch of the vintage International Harvester truck

IMAGE_7621

Inspiration for my second watercolor sketch

Inspiration for my second watercolor sketch

My watercolor sketch of turban squashes

My watercolor sketch of turban squashes

 

8 Responses to “Painting Day at the Gordon Skagit Farm”

  1. Mary Says:

    Rosemary, thanks for documenting this special outing of friends.
    Mary

  2. shadowlilies Says:

    Beautiful paintings…all of them. 🙂

  3. Renee Says:

    love your watercolors

  4. Alice V. Shoemaker Says:

    Enjoyed seeing the results of the visit to such a beautiful place.

  5. Libby mi Says:

    Loved the day with everyone! Libby, aka “Jude”


Leave a Reply

