Paintings and Pumpkins: Gordon Skagit Farms

October 10, 2013

Pumpkin painting by Eddie Gordon

Pumpkin painting by Eddie Gordon

Gordon Skagit Farms

Gordon Skagit Farms

I suppose some people go to Gordon Skagit Farms for the pumpkins, squashes and gourds (they have over 60 varieties).  Or maybe they make the trip for the U-pick apples or pumpkin patch or corn maze.  Or perhaps they come to see the spooky Halloween dioramas and displays.  But the big draw for me is Eddie Gordon’s art.  His big paintings anchor many of the displays on the grounds.  Last year when I first wrote about Gordon’s (you can look back at that post here), I was totally bowled over by the concept of celebrating art on a working farm.  This year I was even more impressed to see that most of Eddie’s paintings were new.  What an amazing talent and body of work!

Here are some photos of Eddie Gordon’s paintings this year:

IMG_4697

IMG_4694

IMG_4746

IMG_4698

IMG_4685

IMG_4767

IMG_4728

IMG_4718

IMG_4723

IMG_4717

IMG_4716

IMG_4709

IMG_4770

IMG_4704

IMG_4687

IMG_4757

IMG_4690

Gordon Skagit Farm

7 Responses to “Paintings and Pumpkins: Gordon Skagit Farms”

  1. Pia Says:

    And what a fantastic way to exhiit them!

  2. Chris Says:

    Gorgeous!

  3. camilla wells paynter Says:

    Great to see art interact with life in that way! His paintings are amazing (love that one with the white barn and the road, in particular), and your photos of them reveal your own talent.

  4. shoreacres Says:

    What wonders. I remember the farm from last year, and it would be special enough without the paintings. I’m especially fond of the seventh photo, of the house, and the one down below that of the farmstead from a distance.

    I’m so hoping to see some autumn colors on my own trip next week, not to mention a pumpkin or two, and maybe some cider doughnuts.
    If I’m too late and I don’t, I can come back here and enjoy your photos.

    • Rosemary Says:

      Safe journeys! I hope you have good weather and enjoy your trip. Will you be driving? with long stretches of time to muse about future blog posts? I’ll be looking forward to hearing about your experiences when you return.


  5. […] Vernon’s Gordon Skagit Farm.  (You can see my posts from previous visits here and here and here  and here.)  It has become my favorite way to celebrate autumn.  Each year Eddie Gordon displays […]


  6. […] about Gordon Skagit Farms.  You can find links from my day trips in 2012 – 2015 here and here, and […]


Leave a Reply

