Under the Bridge

August 13, 2013

Under the I-5 bridge at Ravenna Blvd, Seattle

Under the I-5 bridge at Ravenna Blvd, Seattle

Isn’t this an unusual, artistic treatment of bridge posts?  The posts stand like some futuristic urban “forest.”  I like that a real, natural, tree or two was allowed to survive, interrupting the pattern and creating some interest.

IMG_3816

IMG_3815

IMG_3814Being under the bridge reminded me of a favorite children’s story, The Family Under the Bridge by Natalie Savage Carlson (1958).  It’s a story about a homeless family in Paris — a mother and her three fatherless children — who are taken under the wing of a curmudgeonly tramp.  I loved the illustrations by Garth Williams, who also illustrated my beloved childhood editions of the Little House books.  The library still holds copies of this classic on its shelves.  I’m glad they do.

IMG_3902IMG_3903

 

 

5 Responses to “Under the Bridge”


  1. One of my favorite children’s books too…I love how they have made the dark dank underneath of the bridge so wonderful…

  2. Steve Says:

    The underpass/park ‘n ride artwork is by Sheila Klein. There is info about the project on her website: http://www.sheilaklein.com/Example/project_pages/Columnseum/projects_columnseum02.html


  3. It’s wonderful, isn’t it, how these books stay with us into adulthood. I do hope that such books as these are still being written, drawn, read, and cherished. One of my favorites, from 10 years later, 1968, is Albert the Albert written by Patricia Fuller Kinsey and magnificently illustrated by Zena Bernstein (of Rats of Nimh fame). Ms. Bernstein is still working, despite having lost the use of her dominant hand. You can read about this, and about Albert the Albert, on her website: http://zenabernstein.com/

    I don’t know if the book is available at the library, since I still have my copy. 🙂 But if it is, it’s worth checking out, for children and adults alike.

    • Rosemary Says:

      I hadn’t heard of Albert the Albert, and unfortunately the Seattle Public Library does not have it. I will have to keep my eye open for it elsewhere. Thanks for the recommendation and the link.


Leave a Reply

