The Beauty of the High Line in January

January 27, 2013

Walking the High Line

Walking the High Line

One of the top highlights of my first trip to New York City was walking the High Line, an elevated park built on an old railway.  It’s currently about 1.45 miles in length.  We walked the entire line, from the southern entrance in the Meatpacking District to its current terminus on 34th Street.  I wish I could return in each of the four seasons because as lovely as the park is in the cold of January, it must be even more vibrant in spring, summer, and fall.

History of the High Line

History of the High Line

Let me take you on a virtual tour.

Steps up to the park from Gansevoort -- a study in grays

Steps up to the park from Gansevoort — a study in grays

Protecting a piece of art from the winter chill!

Protecting a piece of art from the winter chill!

The High Line is dotted with many benches and plantings

The High Line is dotted with many benches and plantings

Diane Von Furstenberg building next to the High Line

Diane Von Furstenberg building next to the High Line

Sun deck

Sun deck

700 panes of colored glass -- art installation called The River that Flows Both Ways by Spencer Finch

700 panes of colored glass — art installation called The River that Flows Both Ways by Spencer Finch

Huge glass window over a busy NYC street

Huge glass window over a busy NYC street

First view of IAC Headquarters building designed by Frank Gehry

First view of IAC Headquarters building designed by Frank Gehry

Frank Gehry's IAC Building along High Line

Frank Gehry’s IAC Building along High Line

Lights glow in the windows

Lights glow in the windows

Art installation called Broken Bridge II by El Anatsui

Art installation called Broken Bridge II by El Anatsui

Wall art viewed from the High Line

Wall art viewed from the High Line

Window overlooking the High Line

Window overlooking the High Line

Nearby wall art seen from High Line

Nearby wall art seen from High Line

Benches with lighting near 34th St on the High Line

Benches with lighting near 34th St on the High Line

And here are some of the plants, trees, and flowers along the High Line in winter:

IMG_9286

IMG_9287

IMG_9292

Jelena witch hazel

Jelena witch hazel

IMG_9313

IMG_9318

IMG_9321

IMG_9323

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 Responses to “The Beauty of the High Line in January”

  1. Elisa Says:

    Beautiful!! Claps!!

  2. Lynne Says:

    What fun! Thanks for taking us along on your walk!

  3. Margaret Says:

    It was one regret that we weren’t able to fit this into our schedule…next time!

    • Rosemary Says:

      I have much on my “next time” list, too. But the High Line was my absolute favorite NYC experience on this trip.

      • shoreacres Says:

        Hooray! I knew you’d love it! What a combination of art, history, nature and pure fun. You’re right – it would be great to see it in all seasons.

  4. Chris Says:

    Very cool! I love that little “garden” window with the “grass” growing on the sill!
    Hopefully you wiil have time to take some people photos…so much diversity that makes up that city! Love it!

  5. shoreacres Says:

    I think my favorite photo is the next to last, but I did enjoy seeing Frank Gehry’s building. I like much of his work.

    That first tree is quite unusual, too. Do you happen to know what it is? I haven’t a clue – I’ve never seen such a combination of trunk and branches.

    • Rosemary Says:

      I don’t know what the tree is. I didn’t see any labels on the plantings. I,too, thought it was unusual. I keep trying to think what it reminds me of.

  6. Patty Says:

    I loved the tour. The High Line is on my list to do when I can return to NYC. Maybe another view/tour when it is warmer outside!


  7. […] my first visit to NYC, one of the highlights was walking the High Line.  On this visit, I spent time on the High […]


Leave a Reply

