National Letter Writing Week: Part 4

January 12, 2011

“A thankful heart is not only the greatest virtue, but the parent of all other virtues.”
     — Cicero

Thank you letter from my niece's son, age 8

I hope the art of writing thank you notes is not dead.  We live with so much abundance, I wonder if we are taking gifts too much for granted.  I grew up in a large family where money was tight.  Gifts were rare and cherished.  A hand-written thank you note is the least we can do to express our appreciation for gifts, small and large.  A note of thanks  honors both the giver and the gift.

5 Responses to “National Letter Writing Week: Part 4”

  1. Danielle Nelson Says:

    Jakob was surprised to have his letter on the internet! I think he was happy to know that his thank you letters really are appreciated!


  2. Hi Rosemary,
    Your photo came up next to mine when I searched for “Grate Works of Art!” You see I create art based on manhole covers and grates.
    I was an elementary school teacher long ago and also a writing teacher.
    I participate in National Post Card Week and write stories on my blog.
    At Christmas time, I posted the letter my seven year old grandson wrote thanking us for our masterpiece of surprises. Below his own second grade writing, I included a translation.
    And I love flowers, just like you do.
    I invite you to peruse my web site and blog and to become an internet Pen pal.
    Blessings,
    Bobbi Mastrangelo


Leave a Reply

