Room for Everything that Comes

August 7, 2016

Dark skies

Dark skies

“Things falling apart is a kind of testing and also a kind of healing.  We think the point is to pass the test or to overcome the problem, but the truth is that things really don’t get solved.  They come together and they fall apart.  Then they come together again and fall apart again.  It’s just like that.  The healing comes from letting there be room for all of this to happen:  room for grief, for relief, for misery, for joy. . . . When things fall apart and we’re on the verge of we know not what, the test for each of us is to stay on that brink and not concretize.  The spiritual journey is not about heaven and finally getting to a place that’s really swell.”
— Pema Chodron, When Things Fall Apart

 

6 Responses to “Room for Everything that Comes”

  1. Elisa Says:

    I have been experiencing this. My brain revolts at seeing it, staying with it. For me it also involves my fear of not knowing, I dislike fear like I recoil from a rattlesnake. It is taking a LOT of energy to stay in this place that is screaming at me to run from it.

  2. shadowlilies Says:

    Incredible quotes…both… from the caption and from the comment above. I can so relate…

  3. Walk-with-Jane Says:

    Creative way of looking at the tough days we all have!


  4. […] Room for Everything that Comes, August 7, 2016 […]

  5. Elisa Says:

    Hi! Just going thru bookmarks of some of the favorites i have saved. It is also strange/amazing that I just got invited to my first Zoom book club and THIS is the book we are reading. I marked out this quote as liking it before I realized I had liked it before. I hope you are well. I miss your blog posts. 🙂


Leave a comment