Road Trip: Oregon’s Painted Hills, Part 3

June 25, 2016

Long view of the boardwalk at the Painted Cove Trail

Long view of the boardwalk at the Painted Cove Trail

Four short trails provided access at different parts of the Painted Hills Unit of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument.  Each allowed closer access to the painted hills.

IMG_8191

The Painted Cove Trail took us on a nature walk around a rounded clay hill.  We stayed on a boardwalk for most of the short trail.

IMG_8179

IMG_8182

IMG_8185

IMG_8186

IMG_8187

IMG_8189

IMG_8190

Dramatic skies above the Painted Hills

Dramatic skies above the Painted Hills

Another trail, the Red Hill Trail, took us to yet another painted hill.

IMG_8199

IMG_8221

IMG_8224

IMG_8227

IMG_8228

IMG_8231

IMG_8236

We had timed our visit perfectly.  The rains held off until we were on our drive back north to Washington.  The rain came in cloud bursts, so heavy that once I had to pull off the road until the rain let up.  As we crossed the Columbia River into Washington, a vibrant rainbow appeared, seemingly giving a final blessing to our trip.

Clouds scudding along the Cascade range in Oregon

Clouds scudding along the Cascade range in Oregon

IMG_8241

And then the skies let down a curtain of rain.

And then the skies let down a curtain of rain.

Crossing the Columbia River into Washington (taken from the car window)

Crossing the Columbia River into Washington (taken from the car window)

IMG_8251

 

 

2 Responses to “Road Trip: Oregon’s Painted Hills, Part 3”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    Just lovely. I smiled at the photo taken from the car window. I thought I recognized the slight shadow on the left. It’s so similar to the shadows I sometimes get when I try taking a photo of a bird from inside the car.

    I just have to visit this place. How I do that, I’m not sure, but it’s the most enticing I’ve been introduced to in some time.

  2. Nika Says:

    I advise to watch a documentary about Painted Hills https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xX-dkS2gV3w


Leave a comment