Derailed, But Now Back on Track

April 18, 2014

 

Bonnie making art amidst the sweet peas

Bonnie making art amidst the sweet peas

Despite my good intentions, my painting has been derailed for some time.  Life intervened, and making art fell to the wayside.  Thank goodness for friends whose support jumpstarted me into picking up a paintbrush once again.  I was invited to tag along one of their regular weekly painting get-togethers.  We met at Jello Mold Farm to paint and enjoy a picnic lunch.

How satisfying it was to put brush to paint and make a sketch.  I resolved once again to make watercolor painting a higher priority in my life.  Here are my new (resurrected) rules for living:

1.  Begin again.

2.  Take small steps.

3.  Be prolific.

4.  Slow down.

5.  Enjoy the process.

6.  Welcome mistakes.

7.  Fail better

Here are some words of encouragement and advice from David Bayles and Ted Orland from Art & Fear:  Observations On the Perils (and Rewards) of Art Making:

“For most artists, making good art depends on making lots of art,” and

“In time, exploration gives way to expression.”

Bonnie's watercolor painting of a greenhouse

Bonnie’s watercolor painting of a greenhouse

Bonnie's drawing of a sweet pea

Bonnie’s drawing of a sweet pea

Katie's painting of Jello Mold Farm

Katie’s painting of Jello Mold Farm

My watercolor sketch of young poppy

My watercolor sketch of young poppy

 

5 Responses to “Derailed, But Now Back on Track”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    I still can’t get over the name Jello Mold Farm. But I’m glad you were there, and painting!

  2. Anne Timlick Says:

    This is a keeper! so
    grateful for your thoughtful post

  3. Katie Says:

    I like your self-imposed rules. Thanks for sharing the quotes from that book with such a wonderful title (that includes the word: FEAR!)

  4. Elisa Says:

    You help my mind to paint this farm as a magical place of creation, no matter how you share it. I am glad that you do. My mind is happy and grateful for the chance to soar.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

