Healthy Kale and Brussel Sprouts Salad

March 19, 2014

Kale and Brussel sprouts salad

Kale and Brussel sprouts salad

I’m still loving this winter’s kale, and I tried another recipe that has found its way to my list of favorites.  I discovered this Kale and Brussel Sprouts Salad online when I was looking for something new to serve for dinner.  My daughter liked the recipe so much that she asked me to send it to her.  (This blog is my way of archiving favorite recipes for our family.  It’s so easy to find recipes using the search box on the right.)

I took the time to saute the Brussel sprouts and kale rather than using them raw.  I did cool the lightly cooked vegetables in the refrigerator before tossing the rest of the ingredients with them.  You could add all manner of crunchy bits — pomegranate seeds, pumpkin seeds, etc. in addition to the nuts.  I think that it is the grated cheese (I used Parmesan instead of Pecorino) that makes this salad taste so good.

Enjoy!

Brussel sprouts

Brussel sprouts

IMAGE_2537

Kale

Kale

One Response to “Healthy Kale and Brussel Sprouts Salad”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    Now that I’ve eaten kale and Brussels sprouts this winter and survived, perhaps I’m ready for this one. It looks rather good, actually. And now I see there’s more than one form of kale — who knew?

    What’s so amusing is that these terrifically photogenic veggies look as though they ought to taste better than they do. Apparently I still have a way to go in developing my veggie appreciation.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

