Inspiration: Will the Well Run Dry?

February 15, 2012

It is truly my pleasure to write these blog posts, but there are times when the backlog of ideas for new posts has been depleted, and I wonder if I’ll find anything worthwhile to share ever again.  It amazes me as much as anyone that I’ve posted almost every day since April of 2009.

At first, I wanted to document in photos and words the little seasonal changes I observed over the course of a year in my ordinary life in Seattle.  Then, writing my blog became a habit of sorts.  I still walk through my life on alert, always on the lookout for possible ideas for blog posts.  Sometimes I start with a poem or quote I’ve discovered in my reading, and then try to find an image to illustrate that idea.  Sometimes I start with an image, a photograph I want to share but have to find some words to go with it.  I don’t try to write long essays or post too many photos in one blog post.  Rather, each day focuses on the pleasures of one small idea or image.

I am most comfortable when I have a small backlog of ideas, but I try not to get too stressed if my well is running dry.  Right now, for example, I’m thinking ahead to late February/early March when I will be out of town for a week.  Can I prepare enough posts in advance to have something ready to publish each day of my absence?  I worry about this, but then something happens and invariably all turns out okay.

Like the neighborhood walk I took yesterday with my camera.  I didn’t know what would strike my eye, but it turns out I was almost overwhelmed with lovely images.  Suddenly, nature seems to be stirring out of its winter dormancy, and I’m seeing all sorts of things going on.  I took photo after photo, and after uploading them, I’ve mentally sorted them into themes for a week’s worth of blog posts!

It’s funny how I can walk the same streets day after day and not see anything special.  And then a new day, and it’s like I’ve got some kind of special glasses on that allow me to see with fresh eyes.  I’m still learning that I have to trust the ebb and flow of my creative life.  And that the Universe will provide if I am open to it.

I’ll end with three photos from my recent neighborhood walk — images that I like but can’t figure out how to incorporate into a full blog post.  Enjoy!

Thorns on the bark of these trees

I like the pattern of these buds standing all in a row.

New growth cutting through old leaf

15 Responses to “Inspiration: Will the Well Run Dry?”

  1. Elisa's Spot Says:

    I do not think that I have ever really been able to write on command, nor take images–at least not images that are worth anything. For me, the energy that drives me to pay attention is often the spark that creates the flutter of my fingers across the keyboard. When I find myself entering, what for me is, OCD land. I do not write. Sometimes I even resist the urge and drive to go outside to feel things. I will not give up my desire to notice and to delight, to be a slave to my overzealous organizing wishes.

    It is funny, when I am in state like that, that I often find the best images, not having my camera along. I have the best flashes of voice and pondering of which to write, but I have no method of output and the pondering become me and unavailable to write but deliciously become part of who I am.

    Am I the writer, the maker, or am I the blessing of the vessel to record and to paint what fills me?

    Not sure why I shared this. :)
    Have a good day!

    • Rosemary Says:

      I think that to create we need so much time alone. So I love hearing about how other creative people stay productive and nourished. Thanks for sharing.

  2. garden2day Says:

    Rosemary, I don’t think your well will ever run dry. You yearn to create and map out things for us to see through your eyes whether it be just a shot of nature or something you have made. Your art and writing helps replenish your well. May you continue to do what you are doing for a very long time. Thank you.

  3. Adrienne Says:

    I take your blogs personally. Kindred spirits on a walk. One saying to the other, “Oh! look at that!.” Or, “Do you like this quote I found?”
    If one or the other of us can’t make it one morning, not to worry. We’ll connect the next.
    This morning, my Wisconsin “look at that” is also a “Listen!” High up a huge flock of wild geese heading North. It will be a week or two before my pussy willow sprouts catkins. However, I intend to cut a few branches today to force and enjoy in the house.


  4. I enjoy following the conversation around a post. Taking a few days away from the computer, and I’ll catch up on your posts next week. I appreciate the extra layer, beyond the words and the pictures, which your art brings. Another view of that post’s topic.


  5. You are a beautiful writer, have a wonderful eye for the perfect picture, a talented artist and I would LOVE to hear more! :) Keepit up girl!

  6. Renee Says:

    Rosemary your posts are gifts to us and if they become stressful at all to you please know that whenever you post we are greatful and you needn’t concern yourself if you decide to take a day off

    • Rosemary Says:

      Thank you. That’s reassuring. I guess I don’t worry so much about a day off now and then, but rather a string of days off.

  7. Judy Janke Says:

    Rosemary, I’ve been following your blog for a few short weeks now… I’m so happy I found it/you! Thank you for taking the ordinary of life, and turning it into what it is – wonderful, to not be over looked! The quotes you add to your thoughts and wonderful photographs enriches all of the lives of those of us who are fortunate to have found you!

    I hope your “well” never runs dry! Thanks!!!

    • Renee Says:

      Spring is right around the corner and let’s hope it brings new inspirations for you. I wonder if last year you had known there was such a wealth of material regarding trees

      • Rosemary Says:

        You’re right, of course. Last year trees were not on my radar, and this year I’m finding them fascinating. I suppose much of my life has been like this, moving from one interest to another.

    • Rosemary Says:

      Thank you for the encouraging words.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers

