Darning Socks

September 18, 2011

“Tending the things around us and becoming sensitive to the importance of home, daily schedule, and maybe even the clothes we wear, are ways of caring for the soul.”
— Thomas Moore, Care of the Soul

Hole in one of my favorite socks

I admit that I rarely darn socks.  I do wear socks until they get holes in them, but it is too easy just to throw them away or make them into rags and buy some new ones.  But these blue snowflake socks are one of my favorite pairs.  They go well with my most comfortable blue jeans.  So I took a few minutes to repair them.

I didn’t have suitable thread, so I found some embroidery floss in a color that almost matched.  The darning didn’t take long at all, and now my socks are good to go for another cold season.  A satisfying project!

Turn the sock inside-out and position a darning egg under the hole.

Darning is like weaving -- across and up-and-down, the needle going in and out.

The small woven patch is complete. Now hide the ends of the thread.

Turn the sock right-side-out. All done.

Mended sock. Good to go.

 

7 Responses to “Darning Socks”

  1. Roberta Says:

    Nice! Just takes a little time.


  2. Lovely! I just interviewed a darner over at my blog:

    http://tinyurl.com/4yyt2sq

    Perhaps you, too, should consider setting up shop? @:-)

  3. Renee Says:

    wow, you are a talented lady

  4. garden2day Says:

    I am impressed! I so dislike it when favorites wear out. I use what we call small darning gourds (real gourds) passed down to me by my grandmother and great aunt – I have not gotten to make the darning gourd posting yet. I do not darn as much as I used to, but I like your darning egg and instructions. I wonder if more people have turned to mending in today’s economy. Take care.

  5. sandy bessingpas Says:

    I too have a favorite pair of wool socks, and I took them to a friend so I could learn how to darn-she did them for me-so I didn’t learn, but they are good to go for this winter. Next time I will try it myself.


  6. […] I was reminded this week about my darning gourds when I was reading Rosemary’s blog entitled, Darning Socks, where she writes about darning a favorite pair of socks with her darning egg. I was intrigued […]


Leave a comment