Winter Papercraft: Snowballs

January 7, 2011

Paper snowball

I remember making these paper snowballs when I was a kid.  They would make a nice ornament for the Christmas tree. 

One of the secrets to successful papercrafts that even an adult can find pleasing is to make multiples of an item.  Whether the same size or graduated sizes, multiples can be strung into garlands or displayed in other ways.  Repeated patterns make their own visual beauty, I think.

Here are instructions for making paper snowballs:

You will need 20 circles for each snowball.

Trace twenty circles on pretty paper.  I used a page from an old art book.

Cut out the circles

Cut out the circles as carefully as you can.

Folding

Fold flaps on each circle so that the remaining flat surface is an equilateral triangle.  (I trace a triangle on each circle so that I can use the pencil markings as a folding guide.)

Glue together

Glue five triangular pieces together into a circle.  Repeat.  These will become the top and bottom of the finished ball.  Now fill in a band around the middle, always creating circles of five pieces, to shape into a sphere.

Finished snowball

Make several more snowballs in varying sizes to make an interesting winter display.

Three snowballs on display in my kitchen window

8 Responses to “Winter Papercraft: Snowballs”


  1. Very cool! I think these would be fun for my daughter, she gets aggravated with origami… but I don’t think this project would require quite as much precision.


  2. Lovely! Can’t wait to try this! Thanks for sharing :)

  3. Linda Says:

    Thanks for sharing your paper snowballs. I remember making them with my mother when I was a little girl. We used Christmas cards, a nice way to keep them a while longer.

    • Rosemary Says:

      Yes, I remember using old Christmas cards, too. You could place the circle so that you had a nice design in the center. Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  4. Sallyann Says:

    I must have made hundreds of these when I was a kid. Thanks for the smile. :-D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 425 other followers

